BYLAW NO. 3670

A bylaw of The City of Saskatoon providing for a Municipal Planning Commission.

BYLAW NO. 3670

A bylaw of The City of Saskatoon providing for a Municipal Planning Commission.

WHEREAS *The Planning and Development Act, 2007*, empowers Council to establish a Municipal Planning Commission; and

WHEREAS the Council of the City of Saskatoon deems it expedient and in the general interest of the community, that such a Commission be appointed;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the City of Saskatoon enacts as follows:

- 1. (1) There shall be a Municipal Planning Commission for The City of Saskatoon which shall consist of thirteen (13) members appointed by City Council.
 - (2) The following persons shall be eligible to be appointed to the Commission.
 - (a) one (1) person who is a member of City Council;
 - (b) one (1) person who is a member of, or employed by, the Public School Board who shall be appointed to represent that Board;
 - (c) one (1) person who is a member of, or employed by, St. Paul's R.C.S.S.D. No. 20 who shall be appointed to represent that Board;
 - (d) ten (10) residents of the City of Saskatoon who are not employees of The City of Saskatoon.
- 2. (1) The appointments of membership on the Commission shall be made initially in such manner that, one-third of the original members shall hold office until the date of the first meeting of Council in January of the year next following; one-third until the date of the first meeting of Council in January of the second year next following; and one-third until the date of the first meeting of Council in January of the third year next following. Thereafter all appointments except as hereinafter provided shall be for three years.
 - (2) All vacancies as they occur on the Commission shall be filled by resolution of the Council.
 - (3) All members shall hold office until their successors are appointed.
 - (4) All appointments to fill other vacancies occurring on the Commission shall be for the unexpired term.

- 3. The Commission shall have all the duties and powers as outlined in Section 95(3) of *The Planning and Development Act, 2007.*
- 4. The Commission shall elect a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.
- 5. Meetings of the Commission shall be held at the call of the Chairperson and at such other times as the Commission may determine.
- 6. A majority of the members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum.
- 7. The Commission shall adopt general rules and rules of procedure to be followed in carrying out its functions.
- 8. The Commission shall keep records of its proceedings.
- 9. If a member has an interest in a matter before the Commission, the member shall declare the interest, and shall not take part in the proceedings nor shall vote on the matter.
- 10. The Commission shall each year before the 31st day of December prepare and submit a budget, including an estimate of money that may be required during the year, to Council for consideration and approval.
- 11. (Repealed by Bylaw No. 6637 October 28, 1985)
- 12. Bylaw No. 3295 is hereby repealed.
- 13. This bylaw shall come into force and take effect upon receiving the approval of the Minister of Municipal Affairs.

Read a first time this 14th day of April, A.D. 1958.

Read a second time this 14th day of April, A.D. 1958.

Read a third time and passed this 14th day of April, A.D. 1958.

"R.A. Heggie" "L.A. Kreutzweiser" (SEAL)
Deputy Mayor City Clerk

APPROVED REGINA, SASK. April 18, 1958

<u>"L. Jacobs"</u> Deputy Minister of Municipal Affairs